Stacking The Shelves

stsmall_thumb2_thumb

Stacking The Shelves is hosted by Tynga’s Reviews.

Won From Goodreads:

I Bought: 

Library:

Advertisements

Waiting on Wednesday: How to Hang a Witch

new-wow

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, and spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating. This week I picked: 

Math_9780553539479_jkt_all_r1.inddHow to Hang a Witch (How to Hang a Witch #1) by Adriana Mather

Details: Hardcover, 368 pages
Expected publication: July 26th 2016 by Knopf Books for Young Readers
Buy it: Book Depository

Summary: For fans of Conversion and Mean Girls, comes a debut novel where the trials of high school start to feel like a modern day witch hunt for a teen with all the wrong connections to Salem’s past.

Salem, Massachusetts is the site of the infamous witch trials and the new home of Samantha Mather. Recently transplanted from New York City, Sam and her stepmother are not exactly welcomed with open arms. Sam is the descendant of Cotton Mather, one of the men responsible for those trials and almost immediately, she becomes the enemy of a group of girls who call themselves The Descendants. And guess who their ancestors were?
If dealing with that weren’t enough, Sam also comes face to face with a real live (well technically dead) ghost. A handsome, angry ghost who wants Sam to stop touching his stuff. But soon Sam discovers she is at the center of a centuries old curse affecting anyone with ties to the trials. Sam must come to terms with the ghost and find a way to work with the Descendants to stop a deadly cycle that has been going on since the first accused witch was hanged. If any town should have learned its lesson, it’s Salem. But history may be about to repeat itself.

Review: What We Hide

What We Hide Marthe JocelynWhat We Hide by Marthe Jocelyn

Publication Date: October 13th 2015 (first published April 2nd 2014)
Details: Paperback, 288 pages
Publisher: Tundra Books
ISBN: 9781770496439
Source: I won a copy from LibraryThing.

Marthe Jocelyn:
Website | Goodreads

Buy What We Hide:
Amazon | Book Depository

SUMMARY

Jenny and her brother Tom are off to England. Tom to university to dodge the Vietnam draft, Jenny to be the new girl at Illington Hall, which the students call Ill Hall. This is Jenny’s chance to finally be special and stand out, so when she arrives she tells everybody a lie. But in the small world of Ill Hall, everyone has secrets. Jenny pretends she has a boyfriend. Robbie and Luke pretend they don’t. Brenda won’t tell what happened with the school doctor. Percy won’t tell about his famous dad. Oona lies to everyone. Penelope lies only to herself. Deftly told from multiple points of view in various narrative styles, including letters and movie screenplays, What We Hide is a provocative, honest, often funny and always intriguing look at secrets.

REVIEW

I won a copy of this book from LibraryThing and I meant to get to it right away, but I just didn’t get the chance. Which is probably a good thing. It took me a really long time to get through this book. If I would have tried reading it when I got it (I was sick), I probably wouldn’t have finished it. That would have drove me crazy. I don’t think I’ve ever not finished a book. I might put them down for a bit, but I always go back to them. This one, I don’t think I would have picked back up.

What We Hide wasn’t horrible, it’s probably an okay read. It just wasn’t for me. I really didn’t enjoy it, and I couldn’t wait to finish it. I just wanted to be done with it. I found it incredibly boring, because nothing really happens. To be completely honest, I actually fell asleep in the car while reading it. I was so bored that I was having trouble staying awake, and I wasn’t even reading in bed. I was in the car! I also found Jenny’s chapters annoying. I understand that she’s an American, that she is now going to school in England, and she was learning new words. Every single time it said something meant something, I wanted to throw the book across the room.

“Great jumper!” Penelope ran her fingers along my newly fluffed hem.
Jumper means “sweater.” – Page 20

“I dunno how you ever snogged either of them.” said Kirsten. Snog means “kiss.” – Page 21

For where to send it, I had to ring Tom.
Ring means “call.” – Page 118

It was clear by day two that the maths they were learning in England (maths means “math”) was far beyond what we’d been doing in the States… – Page 120

I really wanted to like this one. Obviously when you start a book, you want to enjoy it. For me, I wanted to like it because the author lives near me, and I find that kind of awesome. Unfortunately I found it boring, and Jenny’s chapters were super annoying. This one just wasn’t for me, but I will give Marthe Jocelyn another try. I’ve wanted to read Folly for years. I will give that one a read someday. However, I don’t think I will be running out to buy it anytime soon.

1 OUT OF 5 STARS

My Bookish Birthday Wishes!

descriptiondescriptiondescription
Well, it’s not  my birthday yet. My birthday is on Tuesday (May 10th) and since I didn’t get anything last year (my birthday was pretty much forgotten), I’m guessing I wont be getting anything this year. However, I still thought it would be fun to share with you guys what books I would love to get. These are just some of the books I am dying to get my hands on. If my parents surprised me with one or two of these books, I would be so happy. So parents, even though I’m sure you don’t read my blog….*hint hint* 😉

ADULT

YOUNG ADULT

NON FICTION

CLASSICS

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

It's Monday! What Are You Reading

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is hosted by The Book Date.

Read Last Week: 

The Importance of Being Earnest Oscar WildeThirteen Reasons Why Jay AsherWhat We Hide Marthe Jocelyn

Currently Reading:

The Sleep Room Frank Tallis

The Sleep Room by Frank Tallis

Synopsis: When promising young psychiatrist James Richardson is offered the job opportunity of a lifetime by the charismatic Dr. Hugh Maitland, he is thrilled. Setting off to take up his post at Wyldehope Hall in deepest Suffolk, Richardson doesn’t look back. One of his tasks is to manage Maitland’s most controversial project–a pioneering therapy in which extremely disturbed patients are kept asleep for months. If this radical and potentially dangerous procedure is successful, it could mean professional glory for both doctors.

As Richardson settles into his new life, he begins to sense something uncanny about the sleeping patients–six women, forsaken by society. Why is Maitland unwilling to discuss their past lives? Why is the trainee nurse so on edge when she spends nights alone with them? And what can it mean when all the sleepers start dreaming at the same time? In this atmospheric reinvention of the ghost story, Richardson finds himself questioning everything he knows about the human mind, as he attempts to uncover the shocking secrets of The Sleep Room . . .

Review: Spirit Level by Sarah N. Harvey

Spirit Level Sarah N. HarveySpirit Level by Sarah N. Harvey

Publication Date: February 2nd 2016
Details: Paperback, 240 pages
Publisher: Orca Book Publishers
ISBN: 9781459808164
Source: Won a copy from LibraryThing. 🙂

Sarah N. Harvey:
WebsiteGoodreads

Buy Spirit Level:
Amazon | Book Depository

Summary

Harriet is a donor-conceived, an only child. She has never considered her family unusual.

But things change when her longtime boyfriend chooses New York over their relationship, and her best friend leaves her for Paris. Level-headed Harry can’t keep it together.

Maybe it’s time to do something other than cry into her pillow and wallow in smoothies. Maybe it’s time to think about the bigger picture. Maybe it’s time to find some half-siblings and redefine her idea of family.

Review

I’m not exactly sure how I feel about this book. It was kind of meh and I don’t really have much to say about it.

One thing I liked was the fact that it was diverse. That was awesome. But I didn’t really like the main character, Harry. I thought she was kind of judgmental.

I don’t think there is anything else I can really say. It was an okay read. If it sounds like something you might like, check it out. It’s not very long and I flew through it. So if you pick it up it shouldn’t take you long to read. If it doesn’t sound that interesting to you, skip it.

2 out of 5 stars

Review: The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner

The Serpent King Jeff ZentnerThe Serpent King by Jeff Zentner

Publication Date: March 8th 2016
Details: Hardcover, 384 pages
Publisher: Crown Books for Young Readers
ISBN: 9780553524031
Source: Won a copy from Goodreads. 🙂

Jeff Zentner:
Website | Twitter | Goodreads

Buy The Serpent King:
Amazon | Book Depository

Summary

Dill has had to wrestle with vipers his whole life—at home, as the only son of a Pentecostal minister who urges him to handle poisonous rattlesnakes, and at school, where he faces down bullies who target him for his father’s extreme faith and very public fall from grace.

He and his fellow outcast friends must try to make it through their senior year of high school without letting the small-town culture destroy their creative spirits and sense of self. Graduation will lead to new beginnings for Lydia, whose edgy fashion blog is her ticket out of their rural Tennessee town. And Travis is content where he is thanks to his obsession with an epic book series and the fangirl turning his reality into real-life fantasy.

Their diverging paths could mean the end of their friendship. But not before Dill confronts his dark legacy to attempt to find a way into the light of a future worth living.

Review

The Serpent King is such a good book. I couldn’t put it down. It had me laughing out loud on one page and crying a few pages later. There were times when I was hugging the book and gushing about how much I loved it. There were also times were I wanted to throw the book across the room because it ripped my heart out.

I couldn’t get enough of this book. Even though my eyes were starting to bother me and I was getting a headache, I still couldn’t stop reading. I was so invested in the story and the characters that I had to keep reading. I couldn’t wait to see how it would end, but at the same time I didn’t want it to end.

I think my only complaint is how Lydia treated her dad. It wasn’t that bad but I feel like she could have been a little bit nicer. Instead of telling her dad what to do, maybe she could have asked. That was my only problem, which isn’t really even much of a problem.

Overall this was a fantastic book and I am so happy I read it. It was my first five star read of the year. I can’t wait to read more by Jeff Zentner.

5 out of 5 stars