Waiting on Wednesday: How to Hang a Witch

new-wow

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, and spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating. This week I picked: 

Math_9780553539479_jkt_all_r1.inddHow to Hang a Witch (How to Hang a Witch #1) by Adriana Mather

Details: Hardcover, 368 pages
Expected publication: July 26th 2016 by Knopf Books for Young Readers
Buy it: Book Depository

Summary: For fans of Conversion and Mean Girls, comes a debut novel where the trials of high school start to feel like a modern day witch hunt for a teen with all the wrong connections to Salem’s past.

Salem, Massachusetts is the site of the infamous witch trials and the new home of Samantha Mather. Recently transplanted from New York City, Sam and her stepmother are not exactly welcomed with open arms. Sam is the descendant of Cotton Mather, one of the men responsible for those trials and almost immediately, she becomes the enemy of a group of girls who call themselves The Descendants. And guess who their ancestors were?
If dealing with that weren’t enough, Sam also comes face to face with a real live (well technically dead) ghost. A handsome, angry ghost who wants Sam to stop touching his stuff. But soon Sam discovers she is at the center of a centuries old curse affecting anyone with ties to the trials. Sam must come to terms with the ghost and find a way to work with the Descendants to stop a deadly cycle that has been going on since the first accused witch was hanged. If any town should have learned its lesson, it’s Salem. But history may be about to repeat itself.

Waiting on Wednesday: Once a Soldier

new-wow

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, and spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating. This week I picked: 

Once a Soldier Rogues Redeemed Mary Jo PutneyOnce a Soldier (Rogues Redeemed #1) by Mary Jo Putney

Details: Mass Market Paperback, 368 pages
Expected publication: June 28th 2016 by Zebra
Buy it: Book Depository

Summary: As heir to a title and great wealth, Will Masterson should have stayed home and tended his responsibilities. Instead he went to war. Now, after perilous years fighting the French, he intends his current mission to be his last. But all his plans are forgotten when he arrives in the small mountain stronghold of San Gabriel and meets her.

Knowing herself to be too tall, strong, and unconventional to appeal to a man, Athena Markham has always gloried in her independence. But for the first time in her life, she finds a man who might be her match.

Two of a kind, too brave for their own good, Athena and Will vow to do whatever it takes to vanquish San Gabriel’s enemies. For neither will back down from death, and only together can they find happiness and a love deeper than any they’d dared imagine…

Waiting on Wednesday: Three Sisters, Three Queens

new-wow

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, and spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating. This week I picked: 

Three Sisters Three Queens Tudor Court Philippa GregoryThree Sisters, Three Queens (The Tudor Court #2) by Philippa Gregory

Details: Hardcover, 464 pages
Expected publication: August 9th 2016 by Touchstone
Buy it: Book Depository

Summary: As sisters they share an everlasting bond; As queens they can break each other’s hearts.

“There is only one bond that I trust: between a woman and her sisters. We never take our eyes off each other. In love and in rivalry, we always think of each other.”

When Katherine of Aragon is brought to the Tudor court as a young bride, the oldest princess, Margaret, takes her measure. With one look, each knows the other for a rival, an ally, a pawn, destined—with Margaret’s younger sister Mary—to a sisterhood unique in all the world. The three sisters will become the queens of England, Scotland, and France.

United by family loyalties and affections, the three queens find themselves set against each other. Katherine commands an army against Margaret and kills her husband James IV of Scotland. But Margaret’s boy becomes heir to the Tudor throne when Katherine loses her son. Mary steals the widowed Margaret’s proposed husband, but when Mary is widowed it is her secret marriage for love that is the envy of the others. As they experience betrayals, dangers, loss, and passion, the three sisters find that the only constant in their perilous lives is their special bond, more powerful than any man, even a king.

Waiting on Wednesday: Katherine of Aragon, The True Queen

new-wow

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, and spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating. This week I picked: 

Katherine of Aragon The True Queen Six Tudor Queens Alison WeirKatherine of Aragon, The True Queen: A Novel (Six Tudor Queens #1) by Alison Weir

Details: Hardcover, 624 pages
Expected publication: May 31st 2016 by Ballantine Books
Buy it: Book Depository

Summary: The lives of Henry VIII’s queens make for dramatic stories and Alison Weir will write a series of novels that offer insights into the real lives of the six wives based on extensive research and new theories.

In all the romancing, has anyone regarded the evidence that Anne Boleyn did not love Henry VIII? Or that Prince Arthur, Katherine of Aragon’s first husband, who is said to have loved her in fact cared so little for her that he willed his personal effects to his sister? Or that Henry VIII, an over-protected child and teenager, was prudish when it came to sex? That Jane Seymour, usually portrayed as Henry’s one true love, had the makings of a matriarch? There is much to reveal …

Alison will write about the wives in the context of their own age and of the court intrigues that surrounded these women and – without exception – wrecked their lives. She will transport readers into a lost and vivid world of splendour and brutality: a world in which love, or the game of it, dominates all.

My Bookish Birthday Wishes!

descriptiondescriptiondescription
Well, it’s not  my birthday yet. My birthday is on Tuesday (May 10th) and since I didn’t get anything last year (my birthday was pretty much forgotten), I’m guessing I wont be getting anything this year. However, I still thought it would be fun to share with you guys what books I would love to get. These are just some of the books I am dying to get my hands on. If my parents surprised me with one or two of these books, I would be so happy. So parents, even though I’m sure you don’t read my blog….*hint hint* 😉

ADULT

YOUNG ADULT

NON FICTION

CLASSICS