March Wrap-Up

Read In March


Reviewed In March

  1. Lottery Boy by Michael Byrne – Review
  2. The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner – Review
  3. Spirit Level by Sarah N. Harvey – Review
  4. Little Girls by Ronald Malfi – Review
  5. Monkey Mind: A Memoir of Anxiety by Daniel B. Smith – Review
  6. Queen Victoria: Demon Hunter by A.E. Moorat – Review
  7. Children of the Vampire (The Diaries of the Family Dracul #2) by Jeanne Kalogridis – Review

Read But Didn’t Review – My Thoughts:

Summer Heat Harper BlissSummer Heat by Harper Bliss – 3 Stars

Summary: When Cat is unceremoniously dumped by her girlfriend right before their holiday, she decides to join her parents on their annual trip to Tuscany. Prepared for two weeks of sun-drenched melancholy, she finds much more than nostalgia in the house where she used to spend her summers as a child.

My Thoughts: This was a super fast read (31 pages) and I enjoyed it. It was good and I will be reading more by this author in the future. Who knows, maybe I might even read more by her in April. Actually, I think that is exactly what I’m going to do.


Thrill Lucia JordanThrill by Lucia Jordan – 2 Stars

Summary: A powerful Contemporary Romance. Here is the first book in the ‘Thrill’ Series by Lucia Jordan, written in her signature style of high passion and emotion.

“Even beneath that tailored suit that bespoke wealth and privilege, Brandon Maxwell’s dark desires couldn’t be concealed.”

Hannah Wilson is having a bad day. Her cruel boss, Craig Allen, has just trashed the presentation that she’s been slaving over. This time she’s had enough. She’s going to tear up the presentation, march back inside, and quit. She’s sick of controlling, pushy men wreaking havoc in her life.

So when a mysterious stranger intervenes to ask if she’s OK, Hannah is in no mood to entertain his enquiry. She just wants to be left alone. But when she discovers that this mysterious stranger is none other than her next big client, and just looking at him sets her lust aflame, she starts to realize that she may be in over her head.

Brandon’s on a mission to protect Hanna – but will he find a way to give up her control and surrender to his power?

My Thoughts: This was another super fast read (again 31 pages), and I also enjoyed this one. I was even going to give it three stars, but in the end I couldn’t because of the cliffhanger. It just ended so abruptly and it wasn’t long enough for me to really care enough about the characters to continue on with the next one. So I just couldn’t give it anymore than two stars. It was okay.


Annie's Day Andy WeirAnnie’s Day by Andy Weir – 1 Star

Summary: I didn’t want to wake up at 6 am, especially on a Saturday. But the man I was cuddled up to was… a morning person.

My Thoughts: I absolutely love The Martian. It was one of the best books I read last year and I was dying to read more by Andy Weir. So one day I decided to give his short stories a shot and I started with this one. Man, I am so glad this is the one I started with because I didn’t like it at all. I found it completely predictable. I guessed the ending before I was even half way through the story. I probably would have enjoyed it if I wasn’t expecting the ending, but I guessed it, and it ruined the whole thing for me. Such a disappointment.

You can read it here.


The Egg Andy WeirThe Egg by Andy Weir – 4 Stars

Summary: A short story about the universe.

My Thoughts: I am so glad that I read Annie’s Day first, because I ended up going into this one with super low expectations. I’m not sure if that is why I enjoyed it so much, or if it was just that good. Part of me wonders what I would have thought of it, if I had read it first. I just found this one to be so much better. If you haven’t read any of his short stories before and you want to read one, please go with this one. It is so much better.

You can read it here.


Sense and Sensibility Jane AustenSense and Sensibility by Jane Austen – 4 Stars

Summary: Jane Austen’s first published novel, Sense and Sensibility is a wonderfully entertaining tale of flirtation and folly that revolves around two starkly different sisters, Elinor and Marianne Dashwood. While Elinor is thoughtful, considerate, and calm, her younger sister is emotional and wildly romantic. Both are looking for a husband, but neither Elinor’s reason nor Marianne’s passion can lead them to perfect happiness-as Marianne falls for an unscrupulous rascal and Elinor becomes attached to a man who’s already engaged.

My Thoughts: I finally picked this one up because of a read-a-long over at Reads With Friends. I love Jane Austen. I have thoroughly enjoyed everything I have read by her. This is my fifth Austen and even though it wasn’t my favorite, I still really enjoyed it. I think the only thing that stopped me from loving it and giving it the full five stars, was the ending. There was just something about it that was a bit blah.

I’m not making any promises, but I am trying to write a full review for this one. I really want to get one up, but it’s not going so well.


Neuromancer (Sprawl #1) William GibsonNeuromancer (Sprawl #1) by William Gibson – 3 Stars

Summary: The Matrix is a world within the world, a global consensus- hallucination, the representation of every byte of data in cyberspace . . .

Case had been the sharpest data-thief in the business, until vengeful former employers crippled his nervous system. But now a new and very mysterious employer recruits him for a last-chance run. The target: an unthinkably powerful artificial intelligence orbiting Earth in service of the sinister Tessier-Ashpool business clan. With a dead man riding shotgun and Molly, mirror-eyed street-samurai, to watch his back, Case embarks on an adventure that ups the ante on an entire genre of fiction.

Hotwired to the leading edges of art and technology, Neuromancer ranks with 1984 and Brave New World as one of the century’s most potent visions of the future.

My Thoughts: This is probably a four star book. However, I was reading it while I was sick and had to keep putting it down. I feel like I would have really enjoyed it if I was able to read it in a day or two. Since I was sick, I was only able to read a few pages a day. There were days I couldn’t even read at all because of headaches. This isn’t the type of book you read like that. You need to read big chunks at a time. I would pick up the book and have no idea what was going on and by the time I figured it out and started enjoying the story, I would have to put it down because I was getting a headache. I may need to re-read this one at some point when I’m not sick and I can actually focus on it. I liked it, but I don’t feel like I enjoyed it as much as I normally would have.

Leave a Reply

