Review: Monkey Mind: A Memoir of Anxiety by Daniel B. Smith

Monkey Mind: A Memoir of Anxiety Daniel B. SmithMonkey Mind: A Memoir of Anxiety by Daniel B. Smith

Publication Date: July 3rd 2012
Details: Hardcover, 212 pages
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
ISBN: 9781439177303
Source: My mom bought it for me. 🙂

Buy Monkey Mind: A Memoir of Anxiety:
Amazon | Book Depository

Summary

Daniel Smith’s Monkey Mind is the stunning articulation of what it is like to live with anxiety. As he travels through anxiety’s demonic layers, Smith defangs the disorder with great humor and evocatively expresses its self-destructive absurdities and painful internal coherence. Aaron Beck, the most influential doctor in modern psychotherapy, says that “Monkey Mind does for anxiety what William Styron’s Darkness Visible did for depression.” Neurologist and bestselling writer Oliver Sacks says, “I read Monkey Mind with admiration for its bravery and clarity….I broke out into explosive laughter again and again.” Here, finally, comes relief and recognition to all those who want someone to put what they feel, or what their loved ones feel, into words.

Review

This is not an easy review for me to write. How exactly do you review a memoir? I guess I will just make this somewhat short.

I have really bad anxiety. I had to drop out of school, I can’t work, I live with my dad and I have no friends. I can’t do much for myself. To be honest, even blogging is difficult for me most times. When it comes to my life, anxiety is in complete control. So when I first heard about this memoir, I knew I had to read it.

It was a good read. I flew through it. It even made me laugh out loud a few times. It was nice to finally see what anxiety is like for someone else. However, I have to admit that I wasn’t blown away.

If you want a memoir that you can read in a couple of hours, you might want to check this one out. It was good, just not as amazing as I was hoping it would be.

3 out of 5 stars

6 thoughts on “Review: Monkey Mind: A Memoir of Anxiety by Daniel B. Smith

  1. Pingback: 2016 Mount TBR Reading Challenge | The Book Hoarder

  2. Pingback: Nonfiction Reading Challenge | The Book Hoarder

  3. Pingback: Alphabet Soup Reading Challenge | The Book Hoarder

  4. Pingback: Around the Year in 52 Books Challenge | The Book Hoarder

  5. I saw this book at the library a while back and wondered about it. I’ve also experienced anxiety at times and I’ve described it as feeling like a hamster on one of those little exercise wheels. Monkey mind seems very apt. LOL

  6. Pingback: March Wrap-Up | The Book Hoarder

Leave a Reply

