Review: Little Girls by Ronald Malfi

Little Girls Ronald MalfiLittle Girls by Ronald Malfi

Publication Date: June 30th 2015
Details: Paperback, 331 pages
Publisher: Kensington
ISBN: 9781617736063
Source: My mom bought it for me. 🙂

Ronald Malfi:
Website | Twitter | Goodreads

Buy Little Girls:
Amazon | Book Depository

Summary

From Bram Stoker Award nominee Ronald Malfi comes a brilliantly chilling novel of childhood revisited, memories resurrected, and fears reborn…When Laurie was a little girl, she was forbidden to enter the room at the top of the stairs. It was one of many rules imposed by her cold, distant father. Now, in a final act of desperation, her father has exorcised his demons. But when Laurie returns to claim the estate with her husband and ten-year-old daughter, it’s as if the past refuses to die. She feels it lurking in the broken moldings, sees it staring from an empty picture frame, hears it laughing in the moldy greenhouse deep in the woods…

At first, Laurie thinks she’s imagining things. But when she meets her daughter’s new playmate, Abigail, she can’t help but notice her uncanny resemblance to another little girl who used to live next door. Who died next door. With each passing day, Laurie’s uneasiness grows stronger, her thoughts more disturbing. Like her father, is she slowly losing her mind? Or is something truly unspeakable happening to those sweet little girls?

Review

I’ve been wanting to read Little Girls since I first heard of it. I was expecting it to be a good read, and it is. It was really good. I didn’t want to put it down and probably would have read it in one day if I hadn’t been sick.

I think the only complaint I had with this book would be the kids. They all seemed younger than they were supposed to be. Susan is supposed to be ten but at times she seemed like she was six or seven. Same with a little girl at the park. She is supposed to be about seven or eight, but she came off more like three or four. Or maybe I’m just crazy. I’m just going off of myself when I was a kid and my cousins kids. That’s my only problem with this book. The one thing that bothered me.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book and I might actually re-read it someday.

4 out of 5 stars

8 thoughts on “Review: Little Girls by Ronald Malfi

  1. Pingback: 2016 Mount TBR Reading Challenge | The Book Hoarder

  2. Pingback: New Author Challenge | The Book Hoarder

  3. Pingback: Alphabet Soup Reading Challenge | The Book Hoarder

  4. Pingback: Horror Reading Challenge | The Book Hoarder

  5. Pingback: Book Riot Read Harder Challenge | The Book Hoarder

  6. OK, that might be one of the creepiest covers I’ve ever seen. Covers that have doll parts or doll heads or whatnot are scary to me. LOL

  7. Pingback: March Wrap-Up | The Book Hoarder

Leave a Reply

