Review: Covenant With the Vampire by Jeanne Kalogridis

Covenant with the Vampire (The Diaries of the Family Dracul #1) Jeanne KalogridisCovenant With the Vampire (The Diaries of the Family Dracul #1) by Jeanne Kalogridis

Publication Date: September 1st 1994
Details: Hardcover, 324 pages
Publisher: Delacorte Press
ISBN: 9780385313131
Source: Either I bought it or my mom did. 🙂

Jeanne Kalogridis:
Website | Goodreads

Buy Covenant With the Vampire:
Amazon | Book Depository

Summary

A sensual, terrifying, incredibly accomplished first novel, this fascinating prequel to the classic and most popular horror novel of all time, Dracula, focuses on Dracula’s great-nephew, who inherits the job of managing his great-uncle’s estate…and his appetite. Written in diary form as Dracula is, this compulsively readable book has revelations that will shock and delight readers of the original. More erotic than Anne Rice, Kalogridis is a major new voice in vampire fiction. The first chilling tale in an exciting new trilogy is a rich and terrifying historical novel set fifty years before the opening of Bram Stoker’s Dracula. At the castle of Prince Vlad Tsepesh, also known as Dracula, Vald’s great-nephew Arkady is honored to care for his beloved though strange great-uncle…until he beings to realize what is expected of him in his new role. It seems that either he provides his great-uncle with unsuspecting victims to satisfy his needs, or Vlad will kill those Arkady loves. He is trapped into becoming party to murder and sadistic torture. And it is in his blood. When Arkady learns that his newborn son is being groomed one day to follow in his footsteps, he knows that he must fight Dracula, even if it means death.

Review

I have wanted to read this book since I found out about it back in 2007. So needless to say I was beyond excited when I walked into Goodwill last year and found the whole trilogy just sitting there on the shelf waiting for me. I am so happy that I own all three because Covenant with the Vampire was great and I can’t wait to pick up the second book.

It took me an entire week to read this book because I’ve been having trouble recently with concentrating. I have had a lot on my mind and it’s been making most things, especially reading, very difficult. However, I have no doubt that if I wasn’t having this problem, I would have read this in a day.

The only problem I had with this book was the fact that Arkady drove me insane. There were so many times I wanted to reach into the book and shake him. I might have even said to my dad once or twice that I wanted to smack Arkady because he’s an idiot. Of course I just got a weird look.

Other than that, it was an amazing book and I hope to get to the next one very soon. If you like vampires, you should check this one out.

4 out of 5 stars

6 thoughts on “Review: Covenant With the Vampire by Jeanne Kalogridis

  1. Pingback: 2016 Mount TBR Reading Challenge | The Book Hoarder

  2. Pingback: New Author Challenge | The Book Hoarder

  3. Pingback: Alphabet Soup Reading Challenge | The Book Hoarder

  4. Pingback: Horror Reading Challenge | The Book Hoarder

  5. Pingback: Reading Bites Reading Challenge | The Book Hoarder

  6. Pingback: Around the Year in 52 Books Challenge | The Book Hoarder

Leave a Reply

