Review: You by Caroline Kepnes

You Caroline KepnesYou (You #1) by Caroline Kepnes

Publication Date: September 30th 2014
Details: Hardcover, 422 pages
Publisher: Atria/Emily Bestler Books
ISBN: 9781476785592
Source: Either I bought it or my mom did. 🙂

Caroline Kepnes:
Website | Twitter | Goodreads

Buy You:
Amazon | Book Depository

Summary

When a beautiful, aspiring writer strides into the East Village bookstore where Joe Goldberg works, he does what anyone would do: he Googles the name on her credit card.

There is only one Guinevere Beck in New York City. She has a public Facebook account and Tweets incessantly, telling Joe everything he needs to know: she is simply Beck to her friends, she went to Brown University, she lives on Bank Street, and she’ll be at a bar in Brooklyn tonight—the perfect place for a “chance” meeting.

As Joe invisibly and obsessively takes control of Beck’s life, he orchestrates a series of events to ensure Beck finds herself in his waiting arms. Moving from stalker to boyfriend, Joe transforms himself into Beck’s perfect man, all while quietly removing the obstacles that stand in their way—even if it means murder.

Review

I was incredibly excited but also nervous about this book. I’ve been wanting to read it for a very long time because it sounded like something I would really like and I’ve heard nothing but amazing things about it. Everyone seems to love this book. I was so worried that the hype would kill it for me. I am so happy to say that it didn’t. I wasn’t disappointed at all.

I knew going in that I might like Joe a bit. However, I wasn’t prepared for what actually happened. I kind of love Joe. He was the only character in the book that I actually liked. I couldn’t stand anyone else. There were so many times I just wanted to hop into the book and give him the biggest hug.

Overall I really enjoyed You (wow that sounds so weird), and I can’t wait to pick up the next book, Hidden Bodies. I really hope it’s just as good.

4 out of 5 stars

6 thoughts on “Review: You by Caroline Kepnes

  1. My daughter listened to this one on audio and recommended it to me. I’ll have to put it on my list. I wasn’t sure if I liked the whole stalker-to-boyfriend thing. Still am not quite sure. 🙂

  2. Pingback: 2016 Mount TBR Reading Challenge | The Book Hoarder

  3. Pingback: New Author Challenge | The Book Hoarder

  4. Pingback: Alphabet Soup Reading Challenge | The Book Hoarder

  5. Pingback: Around the Year in 52 Books Challenge | The Book Hoarder

Leave a Reply

