It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

It's Monday! What Are You Reading

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is hosted by The Book Date.

Sorry I haven’t been posting much in the last couple of weeks. I went into the city and I brought home something I did not want. lol I have been so sick which means I haven’t been reading much. 😦 I’m starting to feel better, so hopefully I will be more active on here.

Read Lately: 

240979_Sch_GBColdLake.cvr.indd_0.tifInuYasha 1From a Distant Star Karen McQuestion

Currently Reading:

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time Mark HaddonThe Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon

Synopsis: Christopher John Francis Boone knows all the countries of the world and their capitals and every prime number up to 7,057. He relates well to animals but has no understanding of human emotions. He cannot stand to be touched. And he detests the color yellow.

Although gifted with a superbly logical brain, for fifteen-year-old Christopher everyday interactions and admonishments have little meaning. He lives on patterns, rules, and a diagram kept in his pocket. Then one day, a neighbor’s dog, Wellington, is killed and his carefully constructive universe is threatened. Christopher sets out to solve the murder in the style of his favourite (logical) detective, Sherlock Holmes. What follows makes for a novel that is funny, poignant and fascinating in its portrayal of a person whose curse and blessing are a mind that perceives the world entirely literally.

10 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Hope you feel better soon, Raye. I’m curious to hear what you think about Mark Haddon’s book. It’s one that’s been on my list for a long time.

    • I was obsessed too. I started reading them when I was around 5 or 6. I was always super excited when a new one came out. I like re-reading them when I’m sick. I have a hard time reading when I’m sick and there is something comforting about Goosebumps. 🙂

    • I’m almost finished it and I have enjoyed it. I think if I wasn’t sick and could have sat down and read it in a sitting or two, I would have enjoyed it more. It’s probably a four star book. I’m not sure if I will be reviewing. What I’m finding interesting is that I’m seeing a bit of myself in Christopher. Anyways, it’s a good read. You should check it out. Fast read. 🙂

    • I liked it. I think if I hadn’t been sick and was able to read it all in the same day I would have really enjoyed it. I gave it four stars because of that. It’s such a fast read. I will have to re-read it someday.

  2. I found Curious Incident to be overrated; it’s about on the level of London Eye Mystery — a fun book with an interesting protagonist, but it’s not a breakthrough in understanding the autistic mind or something, which some reviews seemed to think. So it’s a decent book but I don’t really get the excitement — maybe it’s a really good play?

    • I know what you mean. Everyone talks about how amazing it is, so I was a bit disappointed. I still really enjoyed it, I just wasn’t blown away like I thought I would be. Honestly, I think the reason I enjoyed it as much as I did was the fact that I saw a lot of myself in Christopher. I found that a bit interesting.

Leave a Reply

