Bookshelf Love

bookshelf love

Sign up here.

Guidelines

1. choose a time frame for your challenge
2. select a stack of unread books from your shelves/piles/boxes/book hoard
3. post a photo and/or list of the books on your blog or social media, along with the chosen time frame
4. use the challenge image in your post (if posting on a blog) and link back to the original challenge page
5. leave a link to your post in the comments on the original challenge page, so you can be added to the list of participants
6. read, read, read!
7. donate, sell, giveaway, or recycle any books still unread at the end of the challenge

My Ramble

I own over 600 books that I need to read. 20 of those books I got last Saturday at Goodwill. So I decided to look at my unread books and figure out how many of them I got at Goodwill. I have around 50. So my goal for this is to get that down to half by my birthday (May 10th). I’m not sure if this is possible. I do have to put the books I get for review before the books I buy. However, I am going to try my best.

Since #7 is optional, I’m not going to do it. If I don’t read all of the books, it’s not because I don’t want to read them, just that I didn’t have the time to get to them. So I don’t want to get rid of books that I want to read. That just means I will have to re-buy them later on.

The Plan

  • Read 25 of the 50 Goodwill books before May 10th.
  • If I succeed – When I go the city with my mom for my birthday, I get to go to Goodwill and buy some books.
  • If I fail – I don’t get to go to Goodwill when I go to the city for my birthday.
  • The obvious – I don’t get to go to Goodwill during this challenge. No Goodwill for me until my birthday and only if I get through the books listed below.

The Books

  1. Liesl & Po by Lauren Oliver
  2. The Space Between by Brenna Yovanoff
  3. Jekel Loves Hyde by Beth Fantaskey
  4. Night Film by Marisha Pessl
  5. A Tale for the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki
  6. Neuromancer (Sprawl #1) by William Gibson
  7. Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides
  8. Without You by Anthony Rapp
  9. Life of Pi by Yann Martel
  10. Elizabeth: The Struggle for the Throne by David Starkey
  11. Swamplandia! by Karen Russell
  12. Redshirts by John Scalzi
  13. Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel
  14. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon
  15. An Astronaut’s Guide to Life on Earth by Chris Hadfield
  16. Into Thin Air: A Personal Account of the Mount Everest Disaster by Jon Krakauer
  17. Atonement by Ian McEwan
  18. Gender Outlaw: On Men, Women and the Rest of Us by Kate Bornstein
  19. Infidel by Ayaan Hirsi Ali
  20. Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher
  21. Children of the Vampire (The Diaries of the Family Dracul #2) by Jeanne Kalogridis Review
  22. Lord of the Vampires (The Diaries of the Family Dracul #3) by Jeanne Kalogridis
  23. Little Brother by Cory Doctorow
  24. Red Notice: A True Story of High Finance, Murder, and One Man’s Fight for Justice by Bill Browder
  25. Queen Victoria: Demon Hunter by A.E. Moorat Review
5 thoughts on “Bookshelf Love

  1. Thanks for joining up with the challenge! You set a great goal — much more reasonable than mine. 🙂

    One note of clarification, though, since I wasn’t very specific in the guidelines: in order to be added to the participants list, readers need to put their link in the comments on the original challenge page (http://poetreeandbooks.blogspot.com/2016/02/bookshelf-love-reading-challenge.html) and link back to that page, as well.

    Happy reading, and good luck!

  2. Pingback: #AYearAThon TBR | The Book Hoarder

Leave a Reply

