Review: Destiny and Deception by Shannon Delany

Destiny and Deception (13 to Life #4) Shannon DelanyDestiny and Deception (13 to Life #4) by Shannon Delany

Publication Date: January 31st 2012
Details: Paperback, 289 pages
Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin
ISBN: 9780312624460
Source: My mom bought it for me 🙂

Shannon Delany:
Website | Twitter | Goodreads

Buy Destiny and Deception:
Amazon | Book Depository

Summary

The sensational fourth novel in the 13 to Life series sees Jessica and the Rusakovas fighting to overcome their biggest challenge yet.

With the threat of the mafia seemingly gone and the company’s headquarters in Junction destroyed, Pietr Rusakova is adjusting to being a normal teen and Jess is realizing normalcy may not be what she wanted after all. But both Jess and Cat know the truth–that normal can’t be taken for granted. Their precious cure isn’t permanent–and when a new danger stalks into their small town, Alexi decides he must overcome his issues with the mother who abandoned him to be raised by wolves and make a brand new deal to save his adopted family.

Review

I’m not sure how I feel about this one. It was definitely my least favorite of the series so far. I did get a bit bored while reading it. With the other three books, I read them each in a day. This one took me four or five days to get through. The ending was pretty good. I was really getting into it and for some reason thought I had ten pages left, so when I read the last page and turned to find the acknowledgments, I was so surprised. If I remember correctly, none of the other books left off on a cliffhanger, but this one did.

Even though this one wasn’t my favorite, I can’t wait to read the last book, Rivals and Retribution, and find out how everything ends.

2 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

