Review: Secrets and Shadows by Shannon Delany

Secrets and Shadows DelanySecrets and Shadows (13 to Life #2) by Shannon Delany

Publication Date: February 15th 2011
Details: Paperback, 320 pages
Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin
ISBN: 9780312609153
Source: My mom bought it for me 🙂

Shannon Delany:
Website | Twitter | Goodreads

Buy Secrets and Shadows:
Amazon | Book Depository

 Summary

Nothing’s simple when you run with werewolves. Jess Gillmansen thinks she’s seen it all but her eyes are about to be opened to even more danger and a reality far more paranormal than she’s suspected. With Jess’s realization that the Rusakovas’ mother is still alive and imprisoned, the group’s choices become harder and trust more important. Lines are drawn and relationships change as the broken Rusakova family struggles to reunite long enough to free their mother and people who Jess always just took to be normal people show themselves to be much, much more.

Review

After re-reading the first book and enjoying it, I couldn’t wait to get into this one. Unfortunately I didn’t like it as much as the first one. I still enjoyed it, but there was something missing. I went into the first book expecting not to like it and I enjoyed it. I went into this one with higher expectations. So maybe it wasn’t missing something. Maybe my expectations were just too high for this one.

I don’t think I mentioned in my review of 13 to Life that Max is my favorite character, so I will just say it now. Even though I know when he’s around I will be rolling eyes at the stuff he says, I just can’t help myself. He is kind of a dork and I love him for it.  He just always makes me laugh. I laughed out loud a lot while reading this book.

I did have a problem with the fact that there is a character that keeps forcing himself on Jessie. Well, my problem is more with what happened after that. Not to mention a character that has an abusive boyfriend. It just didn’t seem like it was really handled well in this book. These things happen and then nothing. We basically hear nothing about the abusive boyfriend again. Hopefully there is more about it in the third book. It came out of nowhere, and then went nowhere. I’m rambling and probably not making much sense.

Other than those problems, I enjoyed it. Most likely because it made me laugh so much. If it wasn’t for the funny parts, I would probably have rated this book two stars.

3 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

