Review: Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen

43641Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen

Details: Paperback, 335 pages
Publication: May 1st 2007 by Algonquin Books
Source: My mom got it for me
Buy it: Book Depository
My Rating: 3 Stars

Summary: Orphaned, penniless, Jacob Jankowski jumps a freight train in the dark, and in that instant, transforms his future.

By morning, he’s landed a job with the Flying Squadron of the Benzini Brothers Most Spectacular Show on Earth. By nightfall, he’s in love.

In an America made colourless by prohibition and the Depression, the circus is a refuge of sequins and sensuality. But behind the glamour lies a darker world, where both animals and men are dispensable. Where falling in love is the most dangerous act of all…

Review: I’ve been wanting to read this book for the longest time. I am so happy that I’ve finally read it. It is such a good read. How the animals were treated broke my heart but I was expecting that going into it. While I was reading it, I did not want to put it down. I absolutely loved Rosie, Bobo and Queenie. However, my favorite character by far was Walter.

Even though I can’t think of anything I disliked about Water for Elephants, I don’t think I can say that I loved it. Although, the more I think about the book, the more I realize just how much I enjoyed it. I don’t really know what else I can say. I am so confused about how I feel about this book. One minute I think I just liked it (3 stars), the next I think I really liked it (4 stars). This is a hard one for me to rate and review, but I’ve done my best. 🙂

I haven’t seen the movie yet and I’m not sure if I want to watch it. Have you watched it? Should I give it a try at some point?

6 thoughts on “Review: Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen

  1. Pingback: 2015 New Authors Reading Challenge | The Book Hoarder

  2. Pingback: 20 Books of Summer Challenge! | The Book Hoarder

  3. I hated the movie and that’s why have been hesitant about reading the book. I have lent it to already two of my friends, hoping that their reviews will help me to get to it at last! 😀

  4. I read the book and then after a while, the movie came out. I did enjoy the movie. Thought the actors did a good job with their characters. I was really unsure whether this would even be a book I’d like at all as it was a little outside of my usual type of reading. However, I was rather fascinated with all the circus lore and the dramas.

  5. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? | The Book Hoarder

Leave a Reply

