Review: Queen of Shadows by Dianne Sylvan

7863163

Queen of Shadows (Shadow World #1) by Dianne Sylvan

Publication Date: August 31st 2010
Details: Paperback, 389 pages
Publisher: Ace
ISBN: 9780441019250
Source: Library

Dianne Sylvan: 
Website | Twitter | Goodreads

Buy Queen of Shadows:
Amazon Book Depository

Summary: Shortly after she picked up a guitar, Miranda Grey conquered the Austin music scene with a newfound ability to psychically manipulate her audience’s emotions. But as her powers outgrow her control, her mind is increasingly invaded by haunting secrets and overwhelming sadness. Unable to look anyone in the eye, Miranda is fast approaching the edge of insanity – with no one to catch her fall…

When he outlawed killing humans, David Solomon ignited a civil war among Austin’s vampires. As Prime of the South, his sympathy for mortals angered the old guard who refuse to control their violent urges. David has his hands full with the growing insurgency, but he takes in a broken-down woman, a musician in need of supernatural guidance. Little does he know that Miranda Grey has the power to change his world as well.

Review

I’m not even sure how long I’ve had this book on my wish list. When I found it at the library I just snatched it up and couldn’t wait to get home and read it.

Unfortunately, it took me days to get through the first chapter. The whole first part of the book was hard for me to get through. I just wanted to punch the main character, Miranda. However, I pushed through and the second half of the book was a bit better. There were times I was actually enjoying the read.

Overall, this book is only getting two stars because I thought it was okay. The second half almost bumped it up to three stars. I will continue with this series because I actually liked the last few chapters, but I’m not in any hurry for the next book. Hopefully when I get around to reading it, I enjoy it more.

Note: This is an older review. So I don’t feel like I can get more into what I liked and disliked about it. Maybe someday I will re-read Queen of Shadows and do another review. I probably will re-read it at some point since it’s been so long and I do want to eventually read book two. I will need to re-read it since I can’t even remember what happened in this book. It’s like I didn’t even read it. Better reviews (hopefully) in the future.

2 out of 5 stars

 

One thought on “Review: Queen of Shadows by Dianne Sylvan

  1. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? | The Book Hoarder

Leave a Reply

