Stacking the Shelves: Super Awesome Mom Edition

stsmall_thumb2_thumb

Stacking The Shelves is hosted by Tynga’s Reviews.

On Monday I went away with my mom and while we were out she was super awesome and bought me three books. My mom is the best. 🙂 Here is what she got me:

20986745The Troop by Nick Cutter

Boy Scouts live by the motto “Be Prepared.” However, nothing can prepare this group of young boys and their scoutmaster for what they encounter on a small, deserted island, as they settle down for a weekend of campfires, merit badges, and survival lessons.

Everything changes when a haggard stranger in tattered clothing appears out of nowhere and collapses on the campers’ doorstep. Before the night is through, this stranger will end up infecting one of the troop’s own with a bioengineered horror that’s straight out of their worst nightmares. Now stranded on the island with no communication to the outside world, the troop learns to battle much more than the elements, as they are pitted against something nature never intended…and eventually each other.

9917996‘Salem’s Lot by Stephen King – Already read. Here is my review.

‘Salem’s Lot is a small New England town with white clapboard houses, tree-lined streets, and solid church steeples. That summer in ‘Salem’s Lot was a summer of home-coming and return; spring burned out and the land lying dry, crackling underfoot. Late that summer, Ben Mears returned to ‘Salem’s Lot hoping to cast out his own devils… and found instead a new unspeakable horror.

A stranger had also come to the Lot, a stranger with a secret as old as evil, a secret that would wreak irreparable harm on those he touched and in turn on those they loved.

All would be changed forever—Susan, whose love for Ben could not protect her; Father Callahan, the bad priest who put his eroded faith to one last test; and Mark, a young boy who sees his fantasy world become reality and ironically proves the best equipped to handle the relentless nightmare of ‘Salem’s Lot.

10160130Carrie by Stephen King

Carrie knew she should not use the terrifying power she possessed… But one night at her senior prom, Carrie was scorned and humiliated just one time too many, and in a fit of uncontrollable fury she turned her clandestine game into a weapon of horror and destruction…

8 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves: Super Awesome Mom Edition

  1. Good haul. You got a mother who knows you very well. I hope you love all these books that your mother got you.

    Grace @ Books of Love

  2. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? | The Book Hoarder

    • I’ve read it too. I got it from the library a few years ago. I loved it and I’ve wanted it on my shelves ever since. I found a bunch of books that were 2 for $15 and they had about six Stephen King books there so I decided to get one I haven’t read and finally get Salems Lot for my shelves. 🙂 Hopefully I can re-read it soon.

Leave a Reply

