Review: Shroud of Sorrow by Tommy Donbavand

17162397Doctor Who: Shroud of Sorrow by Tommy Donbavand

Details: Paperback, 256 pages
Publication: April 2nd 2013 by Broadway Books
Source: I got it for Christmas
Buy it: Book Depository
My Rating: 4 Stars

Summary: It is the day after John F. Kennedy’s assassination and the faces of the dead are everywhere. PC Reg Cranfield sees his recently deceased father in the mists along Totter’s Lane. Reporter Mae Callon sees her late grandmother in a coffee stain on her desk. FBI Special Agent Warren Skeet finds his long-dead partner staring back at him from raindrops on a window pane. Then the faces begin to talk, and scream… and push through into our world. As the alien Shroud begins to feast on the grief of a world in mourning, can the Doctor dig deep enough into his own sorrow to save mankind?

Review: Even though I haven’t read that many Doctor Who books, out of the four or five that I have read, I think this one might be my favorite.

I couldn’t put it down and read it in one sitting. There were just so many funny moments. Out of the few Doctor Who books I’ve read, the Doctor always seems a little off to me, but in this book, to me at least, he seemed to be a lot like he was on the show.

The only reason I didn’t give this one five stars, was the fact that at times when the American characters were talking or thinking, they would say or think things that just didn’t seem right. At least I didn’t think they sounded right. I mean I don’t live in America, I live in Canada and I wasn’t alive in the 60’s so maybe I’m wrong. Like at one point Warren is backing up and it says that “He felt the back of his legs bump against something hard. The front bumper of the ambulance. He reached back to feel around on the vehicle’s bonnet with his fingertips, trying to work out which door he was closet to.” Bonnet? Am I wrong about this? Do some Americans say bonnet? Maybe I just read it all wrong. Maybe I’m completely clueless.

Overall it was a great read. However, I am now out of Doctor Who books. I must get more. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Review: Shroud of Sorrow by Tommy Donbavand

  1. Pingback: 20 Books of Summer Challenge! | The Book Hoarder

  2. Pingback: 2015 New Authors Reading Challenge | The Book Hoarder

  3. Pingback: 2015 Mount TBR Reading Challenge | The Book Hoarder

  4. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? | The Book Hoarder

Leave a Reply

