Review: A Walk to Remember by Nicholas Sparks

3473A Walk to Remember by Nicholas Sparks

Details: Paperback, 240 pages
Publication: September 1st 2004 by Grand Central Publishing
Source: Library
Buy it: Book Depository
My Rating: 3 stars

Summary: Every April, when the wind blows from the sea and mingles with the scent of lilacs, Landon Carter remembers his last year at Beaufort High. It was 1958, and Landon had already dated a girl or two. He even swore that he had once been in love. Certainly the last person in town he thought he’d fall for was Jamie Sullivan, the daughter of the town’s Baptist minister.

A quiet girl who always carried a Bible with her schoolbooks, Jamie seemed content living in a world apart from the other teens. She took care of her widowed father, rescued hurt animals, and helped out at the local orphanage. No boy had ever asked her out. Landon would never have dreamed of it.

Then a twist of fate made Jamie his partner for the homecoming dance, and Landon Carter’s life would never be the same. Being with Jamie would show him the depths of the human heart and lead him to a decision so stunning it would send him irrevocably on the road to manhood…

Review: I don’t normally watch a movie until I’ve read the book, but it does happen once in a while. This was one of those times. I was surprised that I enjoyed the movie since it’s not usually the type of movie I like. However, I did like it, so I’ve been wanting to read the book ever since.

I’ve finally read it and I have to say that I was disappointed. This might be the first time I’ve liked a movie more than the book. Don’t get me wrong, I did like the book. It was a good read. I gave it three stars because I liked it, but It did almost got two stars. A Walk to Remember is sort of between two stars and three. I thought it was more than just okay, but I didn’t like it as much as the books I normally give three stars to. This is one of those times I wish I did half stars. Three stars seems to be normal for his books. This was my third one and they all seem to get three stars. I like them, but I don’t love them. They are good, but kind of forgettable.

I will continue to read more by Nicholas Sparks, but I will be getting his books from the library. I can’t see myself buying this book or any of his others, unless I find them super cheap. I also wont be reading them that often.

Note: This is an older review. So I don’t feel like I can get more into what I liked and disliked about it. Maybe someday I will re-read A Walk to Remember and do another review. Better reviews (hopefully) in the future.

One thought on “Review: A Walk to Remember by Nicholas Sparks

  1. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? | The Book Hoarder

Leave a Reply

