Review: Suffer the Children by John Saul

6572Suffer the Children by John Saul

Details: Paperback, 378 pages
Publication: July 1st 1989 by Dell (first published 1977)
Source: Library
Buy it: Book Depository
Rating: 3 stars

Summary: One hundred years ago in Port Arbello a pretty little girl began to scream. And struggle. And die. No one heard. No one saw. Just one man whose guilty heart burst in pain as he dashed himself to death in the sea. Now something peculiar is happening in Port Arbello. The children are disappearing, one by one. An evil history is repeating itself. And one strange, terrified child has ended her silence with a scream that began a hundred years ago.

Review: I’m not exactly sure how long this book was on my wish list, but it’s been there awhile. I actually found it at the library and was super excited to read it.

It was pretty good. It didn’t blow me away or anything, but I did like it. I was expecting it to creepy but it wasn’t. Though that might be my fault. I’ve been watching horror movies since I was six, obsessed with them since I was ten, so at this point it takes a lot to creep me out.

I enjoyed it enough that I want to own this book and I want to read more by John Saul. Have you read Suffer the Children? Did it creep you out?

Note: This is an older review. So I don’t feel like I can get more into what I liked and disliked about it. Maybe someday I will re-read Suffer the Children and do another review. Better reviews (hopefully) in the future.

2 thoughts on “Review: Suffer the Children by John Saul

  1. I read this book a really long time ago. Probably pretty soon after it was published in the late ’70’s. Yes, at that time, it did creep me out. Not sure if it would now. I read a lot of John Saul’s books. I haven’t forgotten about him, but it has been a long time since I read anything he wrote. Thanks for the memories!

  2. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? | The Book Hoarder

Leave a Reply

