Review: Monster by Christopher Pike

928815Monster by Christopher Pike

Details: Paperback, 229 pages
Publication: November 1st 1992 by Simon Pulse
Source: My dad brought it home from work for me.
My Rating: 3 stars

Summary: Mary Blanc walked into the party with a loaded shotgun. In the blink of an eye she blew two people away. She wanted to kill more, but was stopped by her best friend, Angela Warner, and the police. The next day, when Angel visits Mary at the jail she asks why she did it. Mary responds, “Because they were no longer human.” Angela thinks she’s crazy.

At first.

Until she probes deeper into Mary’s claims and discovers a horror so unimaginable that she thinks she is going crazy. She even gets to the point where she wonders if she should have let Mary keep on killing. While there was still time to stop the thing from spreading. The very old thing. The hungry thing.

Review: I love Christopher Pikes books and I have loved them for years. I’m not sure why it took me so long to pick up Monster but I finally have and I have to say I was a little bit let down by it.

I don’t know if it was the plot or the characters that didn’t do it for me but something obviously didn’t. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed the book, I just didn’t love it.

If you’re like me and are a fan of Christopher Pike but you haven’t read this one yet, I’d say read it. It’s good. However, if you just read his stuff once and awhile or have never read anything by him, I’d say skip it. At least for now. If you ever start running out of things to read by him, than pick it up. It’s not a bad book, it’s just he has much better stuff out there than Monster.

Note: This is an older review. So I don’t feel like I can get more into what I liked and disliked about it. Maybe someday I will re-read Monster and do another review. Better reviews (hopefully) in the future.

One thought on “Review: Monster by Christopher Pike

  1. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? & #TBRTakedown Wrap-up | The Book Hoarder

Leave a Reply

