Review: The Shining by Stephen King

12977531The Shining (The Shining #1) by Stephen King

Details: Mass Market Paperback, 659 pages
Publication: June 26th 2012 by Anchor (first published 1977)
Source: I bought it
Buy it: Book Depository
My Rating: 4 Stars

Summary: Jack Torrance’s new job at the Overlook Hotel is the perfect chance for a fresh start. As the off-season caretaker at the atmospheric old hotel, he’ll have plenty of time to spend reconnecting with his family and working on his writing. But as the harsh winter weather sets in, the idyllic location feels ever more remote . . . and more sinister. And the only one to notice the strange and terrible forces gathering around the Overlook is Danny Torrance, a uniquely gifted five-year-old.

Review: I didn’t know what to expect going into this book. The movie is so good, so I was worried I was going into it expecting too much and that I would be let down. At the same time it’s Stephen King, so of course it would be great. I just didn’t know what to think.

It was so good. It’s not one of my favorites by King, but I still really really liked it. There wasn’t anything I disliked about it so it probably deserves five stars. However, I didn’t love it for some crazy reason. So I’m giving it four stars.

I have now read four books by Stephen King. I’ve read Dreamcatcher, Pet Sematary, ‘Salem’s Lot (my review), and obviously, The Shining. What book by him should I read next?

Note: This is an older review. So I don’t feel like I can get more into what I liked and disliked about it. Maybe someday I will re-read The Shining and do another review. Better reviews (hopefully) in the future.

3 thoughts on “Review: The Shining by Stephen King

  1. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? | The Book Hoarder

Leave a Reply

