Review: The Giver by Lois Lowry

3636The Giver (The Giver Quartet #1) by Lois Lowry

Details: Mass Market Paperback, 179 pages
Publication: January 24th 2006 by Ember (first published 1993)
Source: I bought it
Buy it: Book Depository
My Rating: 4 Stars

Summary: Jonas’s world is perfect. Everything is under control. There is no war or fear or pain. There are no choices. Every person is assigned a role in the Community. When Jonas turns twelve, he is singled out to receive special training from The Giver. The Giver alone holds the memories of the true pain and pleasure of life. Now, it is time for Jonas to receive the truth. There is no turning back.

Review: Guys! I’ve finally read it. After years of wanting to read The Giver, I have finally bought it and read it. I am so happy that it’s finally happened and that I liked it. It is so good. My only complaint is that it wasn’t longer. I wanted to be in the world longer. I need to get the rest of the series. I need the pretty box set with the pretty covers. Have you read the other books? Are they as good? You guys need to let me know.

Note: This is an older review. So I don’t feel like I can get more into what I liked and disliked about it. Maybe someday I will re-read The Giver and do another review. Better reviews (hopefully) in the future.

5 thoughts on “Review: The Giver by Lois Lowry

  1. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? | The Book Hoarder

Leave a Reply

