Review: Betrayed by P.C. Cast & Kristin Cast

676924Betrayed (House of Night #2) by P.C. Cast & Kristin Cast

Details: Paperback, 310 pages
Publication: October 2nd 2007 by St. Martin’s Griffin
Source: I bought it
Buy it: Book Depository
My Rating: 2 Stars

Summary: Zoey, High Priestess in training, has managed to settle in at the House of Night and come to terms with the vast powers the Vampyre Goddess Nyx has given her. Just as she finally feels she belongs, the unthinkable happens: human teenagers are being killed, and all evidence points to the House of Night. While danger stalks the humans from Zoey’s old life, she begins to realize that the very powers that make her so unique might also threaten those she loves.

Review: I’ve read the first eight books in this series years ago, and I enjoyed the first few of them. This time around I’m not liking them as much. I actually hated Marked, but Betrayed wasn’t as bad.

I had some problems with this books. There was a lot of slut shaming and some other things that really bothered me. The characters just say some things that I wish they wouldn’t. I know they wrote it that way because it’s supposed to be how teenagers talk, and I suppose some do talk like that, but it really annoyed me.

I am about to start re-reading the third book, Chosen. Hopefully I enjoy it. I just don’t know what to expect with these books. Going into Marked I thought I would like it, and I didn’t. Going into Betrayed I thought I would hate it, and I ended up thinking it was okay. So who knows what will happen with Chosen. Maybe it will be the first in the series that doesn’t lose stars. The first few books for me were three stars the first time I read them. They aren’t any more.

One thought on “Review: Betrayed by P.C. Cast & Kristin Cast

  1. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? | The Book Hoarder

Leave a Reply

