Review: If I Stay by Gayle Forman

6990472If I Stay (If I Stay #1) by Gayle Forman

Details: Paperback, 259 pages
Published: April 6th 2010 by Speak
Source: I bought it.
Buy it: Book Depository
Rating: 3 stars

Summary: The critically acclaimed, bestselling novel from Gayle Forman, author of Where She Went, Just One Day, and Just One Year.
Soon to be a major motion picture, starring Chloe Moretz!

In the blink of an eye everything changes. Seventeen year-old Mia has no memory of the accident; she can only recall what happened afterwards, watching her own damaged body being taken from the wreck. Little by little she struggles to put together the pieces- to figure out what she has lost, what she has left, and the very difficult choice she must make. Heartwrenchingly beautiful, this will change the way you look at life, love, and family. Now a major motion picture starring Chloe Grace Moretz, Mia’s story will stay with you for a long, long time.

Review: I added If I Stay to my wish list a few years ago, but I just never got around to buying it until the trailer for the movie came out. I had to read it so I could go see the movie. I am super glad I finally got around to reading it.

I’m going to start off by saying I didn’t cry and I didn’t love it as much as I thought I was going to. Everyone says it’s amazing and will make you cry. I didn’t feel that way. However, I did enjoy it. I think if I went into it without hearing all the hype I would have given it four stars.

If I Stay is a fast read and I can see how it could make people cry. It’s a good book and I can’t wait to read more by this author.

Note: This is an older review. So I don’t feel like I can get more into what I liked and disliked about it. Maybe someday I will re-read If I Stay and do another review. Better reviews (hopefully) in the future.

2 thoughts on “Review: If I Stay by Gayle Forman

  1. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? | The Book Hoarder

Leave a Reply

