Review: The Messengers by Edward Hogan

22926577

The Messengers by Edward Hogan

Publication Date: May 12th 2015
Details: Hardcover, 224 pages
Publisher: Candlewick Press
ISBN: 9780763671129
Source: I won it from LibraryThing

Buy The Messengers:
Amazon | Book Depository

Summary: If you could see the future, would you have the guts to change it? A new psychological thriller from the author of Daylight Saving.

Fifteen-year-old Frances is sent to her aunt’s house for the summer to escape difficulties at home. Soon she meets Peter, a man unlike anyone she has ever known. Peter is a messenger—but his messages never bring good news. Peter believes that Frances is a messenger, too. In a compelling page-turner as complex as it is chilling, the author of Daylight Saving poses the provocative question: If you could change the future, where would you start?

Review

I was super excited when I won this book from LibraryThing. Lately I’ve won a couple of books, but unfortunately like The Frail Days by Gabrielle Prendergast, this book was also only a two star read for me.

The Messengers could have been a three star book. I did like it. I really enjoyed reading it but I had to drop a star because of the characters. I can’t really explain it that well without spoiling stuff. I will just say that Frances does something really stupid. She’s trying to help but I feel like even a child would understand how dumb and dangerous her idea is. Her friend also annoyed me. He was all over the place.

When I finished reading this book, I wanted to give it three stars, but I just couldn’t. I can usually look past characters making bad decisions or being slightly annoying, but I couldn’t with this one.

I did enjoy it and think it is worth a read. I would just suggest that maybe you get this one from the library.

2 out of 5 stars

 

4 thoughts on “Review: The Messengers by Edward Hogan

  1. Pingback: 2015 New Authors Reading Challenge | The Book Hoarder

  2. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? | The Book Hoarder

Leave a Reply

