Review: The Horror at Camp Jellyjam by R.L. Stine

523106The Horror at Camp Jellyjam (Goosebumps #33) by R.L. Stine

Details: Paperback, 128 pages
Published: 1995 by Scholastic
Source: I’ve had it since I was a kid
My Rating: 3 Stars

Summary: IT’S NOT WHETHER YOU WIN OR LOSE – IT’S HOW YOU STAY ALIVE!

Swimming, basketball, archery. King Jellyjam’s sports camp has it all. Too bad Wendy isn’t a total sports freak like her brother, Elliot. But how excited can you get over a game of softball. It’s just a game, right?

WRONG!

Because Camp Jellyjam is no ordinary sports camp. And Wendy’s about to find out why. Why the counselors seem a little too happy. A little too obsessed with winning. And why the ground is always rumbling late at night….

Review: When I was a kid, I was obsessed with Goosebumps. The Horror at Camp Jellyjam was my favorite. One summer my friends and I made our own King Jellyjam’s Sports Camp. We would spend all day playing sports and trying our hardest to win. Only The Best. We even made King coins.

I was super excited to re-read this one again as an adult. I probably shouldn’t have done it. It was a fun read but it just wasn’t the same as when I was a kid. I think that is why I’m only giving it three stars. There was nothing wrong with it, it just didn’t have the same, I don’t know, magic I guess. Something was missing. Oh well, I still enjoyed it.

Note: This is an older review. So I don’t feel like I can get more into what I liked and disliked about it. Maybe someday I will re-read The Horror at Camp Jellyjam and do another review. Better reviews (hopefully) in the future.

One thought on “Review: The Horror at Camp Jellyjam by R.L. Stine

  1. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? | The Book Hoarder

Leave a Reply

