Waiting on Wednesday: I, Ripper

new-wow

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, and spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating. This week I picked: 

22609397I, Ripper by Stephen Hunter

Expected Publication: May 19th 2015 by Simon & Schuster (first published May 5th 2015)
Details: Hardcover, 320 pages

Summary: The electrifying new thriller from New York Times bestseller Stephen Hunter takes you deep inside the mind of the most notorious serial killer of all time: Jack the Ripper.

In the fall of 1888, Jack the Ripper slaughtered five prostitutes in London’s seamy Whitechapel District. He did not just kill—he ripped with a butcher’s glee—and then, after the particularly gruesome slaying of Mary Jane Kelly, he disappeared. For 127 years, Jack has haunted the dark corners of our imagination, the paradigm of the psychotic killer. We remember him not only for his crimes, but because, despite one of the biggest dragnets in London history, he was never caught.

I, Ripper is a vivid reimagining of Jack’s personal story entwined with that of an Irish journalist who covered the case, knew the principals, charted the investigation, and at last, stymied, went off in a bold new direction. These two men stalk each other through a city twisted in fear of the madman’s blade, a cat-and-mouse game that brings to life the sounds and smells of the fleshpot tenderloin of Whitechapel and all the lurid acts that fueled the Ripper headlines.

Dripping with intrigue, atmosphere, and diabolical twists, this is a magnificent psychological thriller from perennial New York Times bestseller Stephen Hunter, who the San Francisco Examiner calls “one of the best storytellers of his generation.”

9 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday: I, Ripper

  1. Is it horrible that I’ve never read a Stephen King book–well–except for his craft book: On Writing. I was looking at a display of his in the old B&N today. Not sure where I’d start. 🙂

    • I actually haven’t read that many books by him. I was hoping to change that this year but my reading has been off. Pet Sematary and Salems Lot are my favorites. The Shining was pretty good too. I still haven’t read On Writing. I need to try and read at least a couple of his books this year. I own a bunch of them.

  2. Stephen Hunter is an author that my husband usually reads. However, this book would not be at to his taste, but is just perfect for mine. Looks like we’ll be switching it up. I’m also looking forward to this one.

  3. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? | The Book Hoarder

Leave a Reply

