Review: Fairy Tale by Cyn Balog

3472820Fairy Tale by Cyn Balog

Details: Hardcover, 248 pages
Published: June 23rd 2009 by Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Source: Library
Buy it: The Book Depository
My Rating: 4 stars

Summary: A captivating and witty dark fantasy that will have girls lusting after it.

Morgan Sparks has always known that she and her boyfriend, Cam, are made for each other. But when Cam’s cousin Pip comes to stay with the family, Cam seems depressed. Finally Cam confesses to Morgan what’s going on: Cam is a fairy. The night he was born, fairies came down and switched him with a healthy human boy. Nobody expected Cam to live, and nobody expected his biological brother, heir to the fairy throne, to die. But both things happened, and now the fairies want Cam back to take his rightful place as Fairy King.

Even as Cam physically changes, becoming more miserable each day, he and Morgan pledge to fool the fairies and stay together forever. But by the time Cam has to decide once and for all what to do, Morgan’s no longer sure what’s best for everyone, or whether her and Cam’s love can weather an uncertain future

Review: Fairy Tale is yet another book I’ve been meaning to read for a really long time. For some reason I didn’t really have high expectations for it but was still super excited to read it. I think it’s because fae books can be very hit or miss for me. I always want to read them but usually end up disappointed. Luckily I enjoyed this one.

I absolutely loved Pip. He was by far my favorite character in this book. Cam was okay and Morgan just pissed me off at times. For the most part, I liked her, but those few times when she would talk/think crap about Pip, it would just get to me.

I definitely liked Fairy Tale, which surprised me. I can’t wait to read Sleepless.

Note: This is an older review. So I don’t feel like I can get more into what I liked and disliked about it. Maybe someday I will re-read Fairy Tale and do another review. Better reviews (hopefully) in the future.

2 thoughts on “Review: Fairy Tale by Cyn Balog

  1. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? | The Book Hoarder

  2. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? | The Book Hoarder

Leave a Reply

