Review: Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson

6658391Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson

Details: Paperback, 278 pages
Published: February 23rd 2010 by Speak
Source: Bought it
Buy it: The Book Depository
My Rating: 5 stars

Summary: Lia and Cassie are best friends, wintergirls frozen in fragile bodies, competitors in a deadly contest to see who can be the thinnest. But then Cassie suffers the ultimate loss—her life—and Lia is left behind, haunted by her friend’s memory and feeling guilty for not being able to help save her.

In her most powerfully moving novel since Speak, awardwinning author Laurie Halse Anderson explores Lia’s struggle, her painful path to recovery, and her desperate attempts to hold on to the most important thing of all—hope.

Review: This is going to be a very short and horrible review. This book hit a little too close to home for me, so writing this review has been difficult.

Wintergirls is an amazing book and was my first five star read of the year. Even though it was a very hard read for me, I just couldn’t put it down. I have been wanting to read it for so long but I kept putting it off because of what it’s about. When I finally picked it up I thought it would be fine. I have been okay for years, all of that stuff is in the past. Unfortunately, this book brought a lot of thoughts back that I didn’t really want to be thinking and I did struggle a bit after reading it. If I’m being honest, I am still struggling a little bit now. However, I don’t regret reading Wintergirls. It is such an amazing and powerful book that I think a lot of people would love. Obviously I wouldn’t recommend this book to everyone. If you know what this book is about and you think it might trigger something, than don’t read it. Everyone else should read it. I want to read it again. Not sure if I should, but I might someday.

I’m sorry this review wasn’t very good. I’m not even sure if you can call this a review. All you need to know is that it is an incredible book, the writing is beautiful and I loved it. If you think you will be okay reading it, than please read it. If you’ve already read, re-read it. It is so good.

8 thoughts on “Review: Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson

  1. This is a book that I’ve meant to read for some time. And I think you did a fine job giving us your experience with the book. I think it’s important that people be aware of some of the issues that are faced by so many and books like this put a face to those issues and make it more personal. I thought SPEAK was so compelling and I’m sure WINTERGIRLS is as well. Hugs to you for sharing it.

  2. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? | The Book Hoarder

  3. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? | The Book Hoarder

  4. Pingback: 2015 Mount TBR Reading Challenge | The Book Hoarder

Leave a Reply

