Review: Moonlight Becomes You by Mary Higgins Clark

6465008Moonlight Becomes You by Mary Higgins Clark

Details: Paperback, 339 pages
Published: May 1997 by Pocket Books
Source: I think I found it used and my mom bought it for me.
Buy it: The Book Depository
My Rating: 2 stars

Summary: At a party in Manhattan, Maggie Holloway–one of the fashion world’s most successful photographers–is thriller to be reunited with her beloved former stepmother. A widow now, Nuala Moore is equally delighted to see her long-lost stepdaughter, and invites Maggie to spend a few weeks at her home in Newport, Rhode Island.

But when Maggie arrives, she finds Nuala murdered, apparently by a burglar. Heartbroken, Maggie is stunned to learn she has inherited Nuala’s charming Victorian home…and horrified when she begins to suspect that Nuala’s death was not random, but part of a larger scheme conceived by a twisted mind. When Nuala’s dear old friend, Greta Shipley, dies suddenly of supposedly natural causes, Maggie is convinced that there’s a link between these two and other recent deaths among the wealthy older women of Newport. What she doesn’t realize is that she has now become a target for the killer as well, and that each clue she uncovers brings her closer to an unimaginable fate. In her most chillingly suspenseful novel yet, the Queen of Suspense delivers a tale of brilliantly sustained terror, woven with the skill and insight into human nature that have made all of Mary Higgins Clark’s books major bestsellers.

Review: I haven’t read a lot by Mary Higgins Clark but I have been reading her books since I was a kid. I have always really enjoyed the stories and I very rarely figure out the endings. So I had high expectations for this one and was somewhat disappointed.

It usually only takes me a few hours to get through her books, but this one took me days. It just didn’t seem like much was happening and it wasn’t that suspenseful. I still enjoyed it, but it’s probably my least favorite of the ones I’ve read by her. It might have something to do with the fact that I used to read her books when I was 10 – 13 years old. You know when you love a book or an author as a kid, and then go back as an adult and it’s just not the same? I hope that’s not what it is. I really hope it was just this one book and I enjoy whatever I read by her in the future.

Even though it was my least favorite by her, it is still worth a read if you are a fan of hers. If you’ve never read a Mary Higgins Clark book before, try one of her other books.

Note: This is an older review. So I don’t feel like I can get more into what I liked and disliked about it. Maybe someday I will re-read Moonlight Becomes You and do another review. Better reviews (hopefully) in the future.

Leave a Reply

