Review: Spin the Plate by Donna Anastasi

12386996Spin the Plate by Donna Anastasi

Details: Paperback, First Edition, 194 pages
Published: 2010 by Black Rose Writing
Source: No idea. I can’t remember where this book came from.
Buy it: The Book Depository
My Rating: 3 stars

Summary: Time has done nothing to heal childhood wounds inflicted more than a dozen years ago, nor fade the memories. Now as an adult, Jo has given up on the human race, men in particular, investing her energies in tattoo artistry and animal rescue. Francis meets Jo during an altercation between Jo and another passenger on the Boston subway. Francis, the brains and speech writer for Charles Davis a Boston philanthropist and billionaire, is painfully lonely as his job requires that he maintain anonymity plus have constant exposure to the shallowness, corruption, and cruelty of humankind. From the moment he lays eyes on Jo, Francis sees beyond her rough exterior to the genuine, passionate, fearless, and beautiful person Jo is and pursues her with unwavering passion.
In a compelling story on living as an incest survivor and the how-to’s of love, faith, and healing, Jo discovers she is not alone in her fight to leave her past behind and move beyond sorrow into joy.

Review: This is another one of those books that I didn’t really know what to expect going into it. I wasn’t completely blown away by it, but I did enjoy it.

The plot was good, but what kept me reading was the characters. I loved Jo and Francis. I really loved how much Jo cared about animals.

I’m not really sure if there was anything I actually disliked about this book. I can’t think of one. I liked Spin the Plate, I just didn’t love it and I haven’t got a clue to why that is.

Overall, I’m super glad I finally read it. And who knows, maybe someday I’ll read it again.

Note: This is an older review. So I don’t feel like I can get more into what I liked and disliked about it. Maybe someday I will re-read Spin the Plate and do another review. Better reviews (hopefully) in the future.

Confession: I have no idea what I’m even talking about (this review is super old). I can’t remember a single thing about this book. I will probably have to re-read this someday.

2 thoughts on “Review: Spin the Plate by Donna Anastasi

  1. Thanks for posting this review! Since its original printing the book has gone through some revisions including a redesigned cover and additional 25 pages. Amazon is offering the new updated novel as a free kindle. Also, an indie film based on the novel is in production for release summer 2015. Donna Anastasi

Leave a Reply

