Review: The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks

1297375The Notebook (The Notebook #1) by Nicholas Sparks

Details: Paperback, 213 pages
Published: February 1st 1998 by Warner Vision
Source: Not sure. I’ve had it for years.
Buy it: The Book Depository
My Rating: 3 stars

Summary: Every so often a love story so captures our hearts that it becomes more than a story-it becomes an experience to remember forever. The Notebook is such a book. It is a celebration of how passion can be ageless and timeless, a tale that moves us to laughter and tears and makes us believe in true love all over again… At thirty-one, Noah Calhoun, back in coastal North Carolina after World War II, is haunted by images of the girl he lost more than a decade earlier. At twenty-nine, socialite Allie Nelson is about to marry a wealthy lawyer, but she cannot stop thinking about the boy who long ago stole her heart. Thus begins the story of a love so enduring and deep it can turn tragedy into triumph, and may even have the power to create a miracle…

Review: This is only the second book by Nicholas Sparks that I’ve read. The first one was Dear John, and I enjoyed it. I was actually surprised that I liked it because I just didn’t think I would. However, I went into this book with higher hopes because I liked Dear John. I wasn’t let down at all. In fact, like Dear John, I gave it three stars. For me, that means I liked it.

I watched the movie years ago, and I really didn’t like it. I know the book is always better, but because of the movie, I almost didn’t read anything by Sparks. I honestly thought I wouldn’t like his books. Especially this one. I am so glad I decided to read The Notebook (and Dear John). I may not have a new favorite author, but I can defintely see myself reading more of his books in the future. I just wont be running out and buying them the day they come out.

Note: This is an older review. So I don’t feel like I can get more into what I liked and disliked about it. Maybe someday I will re-read The Notebook and do another review. Better reviews (hopefully) in the future.

Leave a Reply

