Review: Calendar Girl by Stella Duffy

19448697Calendar Girl (Saz Martin #1) by Stella Duffy

Details: Paperback, 207 pages
Published: October 21st 1999 by Serpent’s Tail (first published December 12th 1991)
Source: I have no idea. I’ve had this book for years.
My Rating: 4 stars

Summary: Maggie has fallen for the girl with the Kelly McGillis body, a mysterious woman who can’t commit herself. Meanwhile Saz Martin is hot on the trail of a woman known only as September, who commute between London and New York in a whirlwind of drug smuggling, gambling and high-class prostitution.

Review: I honestly wasn’t expecting much from this book. I can’t even explain why because I have no idea. I was hoping I would enjoy it, but I just didn’t think I would. I really wish I knew why that is. All I can say is that I’m glad I was wrong. Boy was I wrong. Guys, I really, really liked this book.

I absolutely loved Saz. She was by far the best character. The others were okay, but there was something about Saz. There is this one part, and I wont spoil it, but it made me laugh out loud. I couldn’t believe she got herself into that situation and I loved how she got out of it.

This book might not be for everyone, but I definitely think everyone should pick it up and give it a chance.

Note: This is an older review. So I don’t feel like I can get more into what I liked and disliked about it. Maybe someday I will re-read Calendar Girl and do another review. Better reviews (hopefully) in the future.

Leave a Reply

