Review: She Loves You, She Loves You Not… by Julie Anne Peters

9415955She Loves You, She Loves You Not… by Julie Anne Peters

Details: Hardcover, 288 pages
Published:June 1st 2011 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Source: I bought it
Buy it: The Book Depository
My Rating: 5 stars

Summary: Seventeen-year-old Alyssa thought she knew who she was. She had her family and her best friends and, most important, she had Sarah. Sarah, her girlfriend, with whom she dreamed with about the day they could move far away and live out and proud and accepted for themselves, instead of having to hide their relationship.

Alyssa never thought she would have to make that move by herself, but disowned by her father and cut off from everyone she loves, she is forced to move hundreds of miles away to live with Carly, the biological mother she barely knows, in a town where everyone immediately dismisses her as “Carly’s girl.” As Alyssa struggles to forget her past and come to terms with her future, will she be able to build a new life for herself and believe in love again? Or will she be forced to relive the mistakes that have cost her everything and everyone she cared about?

National Book Award finalist Julie Anne Peters has written a compelling novel about coming out, finding love, and discovering your place in the world. Alyssa’s story will speak to anyone who has known the joy and pain of first love and the struggle to start over again.

Review: I’m just going to start off by saying that I absolutely love Julie Anne Peters. She is probably my favorite author. I have loved everything I’ve read by her and had extremely high expectations going into this and I was not let down.

Alyssa has to go live with her biological mother that she barely knows, and she’s not very happy about it. She gets a job, meets someone, it’s not really anything new but I still loved it.

Just like every other time I read a book by Julie Anne Peters, I can’t stop talking about it but can’t seem to write a review that does the book justice.

If you haven’t read this book or any of Julie Anne Peters books, please do so. They are all really good.

Note: This is an older review. So I don’t feel like I can get more into what I liked and disliked about it. Maybe someday I will re-read She Loves You, She Loves You Not and do another review. Better reviews (hopefully) in the future.

Leave a Reply

