Review: Vampire Rising by Jason Henderson

6990121Vampire Rising (Alex Van Helsing #1) by Jason Henderson

Details: Hardcover, 249 pages
Published: May 4th 2010 by Harper Teen
Source: I bought it.
Buy it: The Book Depository
My Rating: 4 stars

Summary: The Van Helsing name reborn

Fourteen-year-old Alex has no idea that he’s descended from the world’s most famous vampire hunter, but that changes fast when he arrives at Glenarvon Academy and confronts two vampires in his first three days. Turns out Glenarvon isn’t the only school near Lake Geneva. Hidden deep underground lies an ancient university for vampires called the Scholomance. And the deadly vampire clan lord known as Icemaker? You might say he’s a visiting professor.

When two of Alex’s friends are kidnapped by Icemaker, it’s up to Alex to infiltrate the Scholomance and get them back–alive. Assisted by the Polidorium, a top-secret vampire-hunting organization with buried ties to the Van Helsings, Alex dodges zombies, bullets, and lots–and lots–of fangs on his way to thwarting Icemaker’s plans and fulfilling his family destiny.

Review: This was a re-read for me. I first read it back in 2012 and I remember enjoying it. Since I recently got the third book, I thought it would be fun to read the first two books again before reading the last book in the trilogy.

The plot isn’t anything that new, but it’s still a lot of fun. The characters are great. They had me laughing out loud a couple of times. They aren’t as developed as I would like, but it’s the first book and it’s pretty short.

As someone who loves Frankenstein, vampires, and all things dark and creepy, I really enjoyed all the references to Shelley, Polidori, Byron and Villa Diodati. I’m not going to lie, that may be my favorite thing about this book.

If you want a fun, fast read, than you need to pick this book up. I may even read it again for a third time at some point.

Leave a Reply

