Review: The Lady with the Lamp: The Story of Florence Nightingale

6483093The Lady with the Lamp: The Story of Florence Nightingale by Lee Wyndham
Published: March 1970 by Scholastic Book Services
Details: Paperback, 191 pages
My Rating: 4 Stars

Summary: “You, Florence! Become a nurse?” Dr. Fowler stares at the slim, elegant girl. “It won’t take you long to change your mind- after you see a hospital ward. Come.”

The horrible smell, the dark, stained walls, and the moans of dying patients on the care of coarse, uncaring ward-nurses, sicken Florence. But she forces herself to look.

“I will change all this,” she vows, “if it takes me a lifetime.”

Read how Florence Nightingale – the belle of Victorian society – becomes a nurse, and turns the terrible “pest-houses” of her day into clean, modern hospitals.

–from the back of the book

Review: I have been in another reading slump lately, and decided to try and read smaller books. The Lady with the Lamp is a super small book and I really enjoyed it.

I have no idea where this book came from. It has been sitting on my To Be Read shelf for years. I think my dad might have brought it home from work for me. I guess it really doesn’t matter where it came from.

I’ve been interested in learning more about Florence Nightingale for years but never got around to reading anything about her until now. This biography is so interesting and easy to read. Even if it was longer, I think you would still fly right through it.

If you are interested in Florence Nightingale, this would be a good place to start.

Note: This is an older review. So I don’t feel like I can get more into what I liked. Maybe someday I will re-read The Lady with the Lamp and do a better review. Better reviews (hopefully) coming in the future.

2 thoughts on “Review: The Lady with the Lamp: The Story of Florence Nightingale

  1. I think I might have read this one in my much younger days. Like when it was published. Wonder if it was part of a series of famous biographies. I read a lot of those when in was 10, 11, 12. Glad you enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

