Review: The DUFF by Kody Keplinger

9662548

The DUFF: Designated Ugly Fat Friend by Kody Keplinger

Publication Date: June 7th 2011
Details: Paperback, 277 pages
Publisher: Poppy
ISBN: 9780316084246
Source: I bought it.

Kody Keplinger: 
Website | Twitter | Goodreads

Buy The DUFF:
Amazon | Book Depository

Summary: Seventeen-year-old Bianca Piper may not be the prettiest girl in her high school, but she has a loyal group of friends, a biting wit, and a spot-on BS detector. She’s also way too smart to fall for the charms of man-slut and slimy school hottie Wesley Rush, who calls Bianca the Duff–the designated ugly fat friend–of her crew.

But things aren’t so great at home and Bianca, desperate for a distraction, ends up kissing Wesley. Worse, she likes it. Eager for escape, Bianca throws herself into a closeted enemies-with-benefits relationship with him.

Until it all goes horribly awry. It turns out Wesley isn’t such a bad listener, and his life is pretty screwed up, too. Suddenly Bianca realizes with absolute horror that she’s falling for the guy she thought she hated more than anyone.

Review

I have been wanting to read The DUFF since it came out but never got around to it. When I found out it was going to be a movie, I decided that now was the time to pick it up. I was so excited. I had heard nothing but amazing things about it and I was finally going to read it. Boy was I disappointed.

I didn’t really like that much about this book. The plot was predictable, which I kind of expected going into it, but it still bothered me. I didn’t really like any of the characters. I’m not exactly sure how many times I wanted to smack Bianca because of the dumb choices she mas making, but it was a lot.

I can’t even tell you what I liked about The DUFF. I can’t think of a single thing I liked. I didn’t hate it. In fact I actually thought it was okay. Maybe it’s just because it’s a fast, easy read and I needed that when I read it. I was in a bit of a reading slump when I picked this up. I couldn’t put it down and read it in one sitting.

I will be seeing the movie with my mom when it comes out. It looks pretty good and a little different from the book. Which would normally bug me, but for once I’m excited about that. Maybe I will enjoy it more than the book. That would be a first.

I will be reading more by Kody Keplinger in the future. I just wont be running out to buy her books any time soon. Hopefully whatever I read next by Keplinger I enjoy more. What should I read next? Any suggestions?

2 out of 5 stars

4 thoughts on “Review: The DUFF by Kody Keplinger

  1. You know, sometimes a movie is better than a book. Not often, in my experience, but I have seen it happen. Perhaps this is one of those times. I remember reading about this book a few years ago and thinking it would be good to read. But I never did. Good to hear what you thought.

  2. I only heard of this book because of the film, so when I read it, it took me a little by surprise. Yes there were some issues that made it a good dramatic read, but they didn’t really fit with the rest of the book. I am looking forward to the film 🙂 NIce review 🙂

  3. Pingback: 2015 New Authors Reading Challenge | The Book Hoarder

Leave a Reply

