Review: The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson

13595639The Name of the Star (Shades of London #1) by Maureen Johnson
Published: October 2nd 2012 by Speak
Details: Paperback, 372 pages
My Rating: 5 stars

Summary: Jack the Ripper is back, and he’s coming for Rory next….
Louisiana teenager Rory Deveaux arrives in London to start a new life at boarding school just as a series of brutal murders mimicking the horrific Jack the Ripper killing spree of more than a century ago has broken out across the city. The police are left with few leads and no witnesses. Except one. Rory spotted the man believed to be the prime suspect. But she is the only one who saw him – the only one who can see him. And now Rory has become his next target…unless she can tap her previously unknown abilities to turn the tables.

My Review: This is only the second book I’ve read by Maureen Johnson. The first being The Bermudez Triangle. I enjoyed that book but it wasn’t the best. It made me want to read more of her books but not right away. This one however, I loved. I seriously loved everything about it.

Well maybe not everything. I’m not sure how I feel about the killer. I was just a tiny bit disappointed in that but I guess it makes sense.

This time I do want to read more by her and soon. I need to get my hands on book two, The Madness Underneath.

Note: This is an older review. So I don’t feel like I can get more into what I liked. Maybe someday I will re-read The Name of the Star and do a better review. I will probably re-read it when I get books two and three.

2 thoughts on “Review: The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson

  1. I read this a while back and also the second book in the series. I liked both of them. Interesting concept, but I don’t remember all that much about the details other than Jack the Ripper. So, there is a book #3 or will be?

Leave a Reply

