Mini Review: Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion

warm bodiesWarm Bodies (Warm Bodies #1) by Isaac Marion

Details: Hardcover, 239 pages
Published: April 26th 2011 by Atria (first published January 1st 2010)
Source: I got it for review.
Buy it: The Book Depository
My Rating: 4 stars

Summary: R is a young man with an existential crisis–he is a zombie. He shuffles through an America destroyed by war, social collapse, and the mindless hunger of his undead comrades, but he craves something more than blood and brains. He can speak just a few grunted syllables, but his inner life is deep, full of wonder and longing. He has no memories, no identity, and no pulse. Just dreams.

After experiencing a teenage boy’s memories while consuming his brain, R makes an unexpected choice that begins a tense, awkward, and strangely sweet relationship with the victim’s human girlfriend. Julie is a burst of vibrant color in the otherwise dreary and gray landscape that R lives in. His decision to protect her will transform not only R, but his fellow Dead, and perhaps their whole lifeless world.

Scary, funny, and surprisingly poignant, Warm Bodies is about being alive, being dead and the blurry line in between.

Review: This book was on my wish list for so long. So I was beyond happy when it was picked for the book club I participate in. I couldn’t wait to read it, and started it as soon as I got it.

I had such high hopes for this book, and I wasn’t let down at all. The only problem I had with it, was that it wasn’t long enough. I really wish it was longer.

Warm Bodies made me so happy. I think I had a smile on my face the entire time I was reading it.

I can’t wait for book two. I hope it is just as fun and cheesy as the first.

Leave a Reply

