Review: The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

hobbitThe Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

Details: Paperback, 351 pages
Published: August 15th 2002 by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt (first published 1937)
Source: I bought it.
Buy it: The Book Depository
My Rating: 5 stars

Summary: THE GREATEST FANTASY EPIC OF OUR TIME

Bilbo Baggins was a hobbit who wanted to be left alone in quiet comfort. But the wizard Gandalf came along with a band of homeless dwarves. Soon Bilbo was drawn into their quest, facing evil orcs, savage wolves, giant spiders, and worse unknown dangers. Finally, it was Bilbo–alone and unaided–who had to confront the great dragon Smaug, the terror of an entire countryside . . .

This stirring adventure fantasy begins the tale of the hobbits that was continued by J.R.R. Tolkien in his bestselling epic The Lord of the Rings.

Review: Bilbo Baggins is a hobbit that gets dragged into this adventure with a wizard, a bunch of dwarves, trolls, goblins, elves and a dragon. Amazing right?

I can’t believe I didn’t read this sooner. I’ve read The Lord of the Rings, and loved it, but for some reason I never read The Hobbit. Which is crazy because it’s beyond amazing. I had high hopes for it and I was still completely blown away.

The plot is so fast paced and it seems like something happens in every single chapter. There are no slow moments. You need to just keep reading to see what will happen to Bilbo next.

I loved Bilbo. Unfortunately, most of the other characters just blend together. Yet that somehow didn’t take anything away from the story for me.

Overall, I wish The Hobbit was a bit longer and some of the characters more developed. However it is still a five star book for me. It is one of the best books I’ve ever read. Please pick it up and read it if you haven’t already.

Leave a Reply

