Review: The Bar Code Tattoo by Suzanne Weyn

bar codeThe Bar Code Tattoo (Bar Code #1) by Suzanne Weyn

Details: Paperback, 256 pages
Published: September 1st 2004 by Scholastic Paperbacks
Source: I got it as a gift.
Buy it: The Book Depository
My Rating: 4 stars

Summary: Individuality vs. Conformity

Identity vs. Access

Freedom vs. Control

The bar code tattoo. Everybody’s getting it. It will make your life easier, they say. It will hook you in. It will become your identity.

But what if you say no? What if you don’t want to become a code? For Kayla, this one choice changes everything. She becomes an outcast in her high school. Dangerous things happen to her family. There’s no option but to run…for her life.

Review: I have been wanting to read this book for a very long time and was finally able to do so when I was gifted a copy of it.

The Bar Code Tattoo is about something that is possible, which is a very scary thing to think about. I was in a reading slump when I started reading this book and it brought me right out of it. I was pulled in from the first page. I just had to know what was happening and how it was going to turn out.

There were some things about it that I had problems with. Mainly characters just showing up randomly. Other than that, I really enjoyed this book and will eventually pick up book two, The Bar Code Rebellion.

Leave a Reply

