Review: The Sweetest Thing by Christina Mandelski

sweetest thingThe Sweetest Thing by Christina Mandelski

Details: Hardcover, 336 pages
Published: May 10th 2011 by EgmontUSA
Source: I got it for review.
Buy it: The Book Depository
My Rating: 3 stars

Summary: In the world of Sheridan Wells, life is perfect when she’s decorating a cake. Unfortunately, everything else is a complete mess: her mom ran off years ago, her dad is more interested in his restaurant, and the idea of a boyfriend is laughable.
But Sheridan is convinced finding her mom will solve all her problems—only her dad’s about to get a cooking show in New York, which means her dream of a perfect family will be dashed.

Using just the right amount of romance, family drama, and cute boys, The Sweetest Thing will entice fans with its perfect mixture of girl-friendly ingredients.

Review: I’m just going to start off by saying that I didn’t like Sheridan at all. I thought she was a whiney, spoiled brat that did so many stupid things that I just wanted to smack her. A lot. I tried to imagine how I would feel if I were her, and I wouldn’t dislike her as much for a few minutes but after a while, I just went back to wanting to smack her.

With the being said, everything else was great. I honestly think this could have been a four star book. Other than my problem with Sheridan, I can’t think of anything bad about this book. It is well written and is entertaining.

Would I recommend this book? Probably not. Unless you want a fast, decent read with a main character you want to hit all the time.

Leave a Reply

